Skip to main content
Month
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
Month
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Study session flyer

CMMA - Community Multimedia Academy

CMMA Academy


The Community Multimedia Academy is a small learning community at Tennyson High School that integrates computer technology, multimedia, social justice issues, and community service.  CMMA students work closely with a team of teachers for three years, meeting college (a-g) entrance requirements and learning valuable multimedia skills.

How is CMMA different from the traditional academic program at Tennyson High School?

  • Integrated Curriculum

Core classes in English, Social Studies, and Art are integrated thematically with Multimedia courses, linking California state standards to core subjects and socially relevant projects.

  • Project Based Learning

Students create projects linked to core academic subjects, as well Art and Multimedia.  By the end of the year, students prepare and present a digital portfolio before parents, peers, teachers and community members.

  • Family Atmosphere

Emphasis on providing a nurturing family structure where parents, students and academy teachers work closely together to ensure student success.

  • Summer Internships

During the summer of their junior year, students are placed in internships, where they gain valuable skills and community service.

  • Mentoring

During their junior year, CMMA students participate in an electronic mentoring program.

  • Multimedia

Students learn and become proficient in web design, digital image and video editing, desktop publishing and page layout and podcasting.

For more information visit mycmma.org
 

CMMA logo
CMMA Staff

Sandra Navarro 
History Teacher
snavarro@husd.k12.ca.us

Jaynee Ruiz
Viscom & History Teacher 
jaynee.ruiz@gmail.com

Judy Okolie
MultiMedia Teacher
jokolie@husd.k12.ca.us

Charlie Stephens
English Teacher
cstephens@husd.k12.ca.us

Kristina Verdile 
History Teacher
kverdile@husd.k12.ca.us

Bharat Mehta
Science Teacher 
bm228@husd.k12.ca.us

Diana Vazquez
CMMA Counselor
dvazquez2@husd.k12.ca.us